Everything Old is New Again

I love watching the Thanksgiving Parade.  It has always been tradition.  I love the floats, the musical acts and the general corniness of it.  One of the acts was a dance number by the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers.  It struck me, everything old is new again.  I thought they were long gone with the ninja turtles but apparently they have a new gold ranger and are making a comeback.  I think  everyone likes “old” (retro,vintage) because familiarity is often comforting. I know myself that even though I’ve watched  I Love Lucy  episodes hundreds of times, if I don’t feel good I love how thet cheer me up.  Besides familiarity, older things whether television shows, stories, objects seem to have a higher standard of quality.  So this Christmas think about something “vintage” for gifts (http://www.etsy.com/shop/PECollectibles).  It’s never how much you spend on a gift, it is the thought behind them that counts.  It doesn’t have to be the newest technology gadget to be cherished.

Leave a Reply

